Spaghetti Squash and cookies

8 Feb

It occurred to me today that i had been craving pasta, and for those of you who know me, this is a rare occurrence. Ever since i was a little girl, i have despised anything that wasn’t spaghetti. Lasagna, ravioli, macaroni; just the thought makes my stomach turn. And don’t even get me started on fresh pasta. The smell of fresh pasta boiling in water is enough to make me run out of the room screaming. I HATE pasta. And i’m half Italian. Go figure.

Despite my hatred for all things noodle-y, there are the rare occasions where i crave a bowl of spaghetti. For the past couple of years, i have become addicted to whole wheat spaghetti. The wheat-y al dente texture provides a great contrast to acidic tomato sauces. Delicious. I have also recently discovered a new way to satisfy my pasta craving; spaghetti squash.

You can probably guess that my digestive system is not used to pasta, being that i eat it once in a blue moon. When i do eat pasta, especially the white variety, i feel heavy and sluggish. Spaghetti squash is a member of the winter squash family, and therefore is super good for you. It contains no starches, and packs a mere 42 calories per cup. You don’t even want to know how many calories are in a cup of white flour pasta. I can tell you that it’s a lot higher than 42… That means i can indulge in a huge bowl of pasta without feeling like a complete heffer after. It’s great!

Spaghetti squash is also so easy to make. It’s a little more time-consuming than boiling a pot of water for spaghetti, but well worth the wait. All you need to do is take a fork and stab holes all over the squash. (If you don’t stab holes, it may EXPLODE!!! I’m not joking, it actually can explode… and that would be messy.) Throw it in the oven at 375 degrees, for about an hour. When the hour is up, take it out with oven mitts, cut it in half and scrape out the seeds. (Don’t throw the seeds out!! More on that later…)

With a fork, scrape the flesh of the squash into a bowl. You will see, the flesh has a noodle-like consistency. It’s so cool! Don’t forget to keep your oven mitts on while handling the squash, it’s hot! Garnish with your favorite sauce. My mom’s pasta sauce is my personal favorite, but i’ve made spaghetti squash with pesto before, and it was also super delish. Tonight, i think i’m going to toss some cherry tomatoes and red peppers in garlicky olive oil, and pour that on top. Mmmmm…

As for the seeds, you can roast them like pumpkin seeds! Rinse them off, toss them in a bowl with a little bit of olive oil, and spread them out on a baking pan. Stick them in the oven at 350 degrees for not even 5 minutes. Super good!

Over the weekend, i tried a new cookie recipe from the PPK. Post Punk Kitchen is my favorite resource for vegan recipes. In my opinion, Isa Chandra Moskowitz is a leader in her field. Her cookbooks are awesome, her blog is hilarious, and when you follow a recipe, it’s like she’s right there in your kitchen. (Not in the freaky way…) The first vegan cookbook i ever bought was Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World. From then on, i was a vegan baking convert, and i never looked back. But i digress. Back to the cookies… I made Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodles. Someone actually asked me if i put drugs in them. (I didn’t, i swear!) These cookies were so good, it was ridiculous. I think it was the cayenne, or maybe the crinkly cinnamon top, or the almost molasses-like consistency sans the addition of yucky molasses. Uber chocolate-y and a little spicy, these cookies were awesome. You need to try them ASAP!

One Response to “Spaghetti Squash and cookies”

  1. Jason February 9, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    Yay!!! Well I just can’t wait for more cookies…. I still don’t believe you didnt drug them. But for the sake of my tummy I’ll pretend thats ok.

Leave a Reply

