Week 2 of training: Bring it On!

6 Jul

As i find myself in the middle of week 2 of my training for the Montreal 1/2 marathon, running for PETA, i can’t help but marvel at the highs i experience post-run. I was always under the impression that nothing could beat post-yoga bliss (and nothing can!), but post-run high is a close second. The feeling of pure euphoria i get after completing my daily run, even if it’s a short distance, is awesome. So is the after-run shower. Wow. All this to say that i am feeling great! Granted, i am only at the beginning of my training program, but my body is loving the feeling of running/training every day. My body’s one complaint is my knees. They are getting a little sore, which leads me to believe that i need new running shoes. A trip to Running Room might be in order next weekend…

To complement my post-run feeling of awesomeness, i’ve been making these killer smoothies. They’re packed with flax seeds, which contain omega-3s, dietary fiber and micro nutrients. Did you also know that flax seeds may also lower cholesterol levels? (Thank you, Wikipedia)

Euphoria-enhancing smoothie

Ingredients:

1 tbsp flax seeds

1 banana

1/4 cup soy yogurt

3/4 cup non-dairy milk (I love almond milk)

1/2 cup mixed berries (I’m on a strawberry/blueberry kick right now… YUM!)

1 tsp agave syrup

Directions:

Throw the flax seeds in the blender first, and give them a whirl. Once most of the seeds are crushed, add remaining ingredients. Blend until smooth. Drink and be merry.

Let me know what you think!

And don’t forget, if you would like to support my running efforts, please visit my fundraising page!

Leave a Reply

