“Good morning, Good morning, it’s great to see you too!”

12 Aug

“Good morning, Good morning, to YOU!”

For the past couple of months, I have been practicing a morning ritual that really sets the tone for my day. It helps me create intention, harness positive thoughts and energies, and makes me feel prepared to go out into the world and leave my mark. I love it so much that I felt compelled to put it on “paper” (aka my little blog) and share it with you all.

My alarm rouses me at 7AM, and I roll out of bed, straight onto my meditation bolster. Inspired by a meditation I did on Yogaglo with Amy Ippoliti, I meditate for 15 minutes, preparing my meditation timer for 5 minute intervals. For the first 5 minutes, I meditate on gratitude, and write down 3-4 things I am grateful for on that morning. For the next 5 minutes, I practice ujjayi pranayama, or victorious breath. You begin by closing the back of your throat just enough to make an audible sound with your breath, not unlike the sound of the ocean… or Darth Vader. Many have likened it to making the sound “HA”, but with your mouth closed. This breath stimulates me, wakes me up, and opens my lungs for the day ahead. It also helps me soften any tight areas from my sleep. The last 5 minutes I dedicate to sitting in silence with a quiet, mindful breath, observing my breath as it flows through the body.

Once I complete my 15-minute sit, I am ready to fuel my body. I make my way to the kitchen and pour a HUGE glass of water to replenish and hydrate my body after 8 hours of sleep. As I’m sipping my water, I prepare my favorite breakfast, a big green juice. My favorite recipe these days is sweet, grassy, and delicious.

You will need:

1 apple

1 cucumber

A couple of stems of kale

A couple of stems of spinach

A couple of stems of romaine

1 carrot

½ a lemon

Throw everything in your juicer, and enjoy!

These mindful actions make me feel nourished in body and spirit and prepared to face the world with a positive attitude. They make me feel like I am tapping into my inner happiness, greeting the day softly and with lots of gratitude and love.

What are your favorite morning rituals? Share in the comments below!

2 Responses to ““Good morning, Good morning, it’s great to see you too!””

  1. theveganmuffinwoman August 13, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

    I needed to read this this morning. Postivity goes a long way 🙂

  2. Kris (@lavegetaliana) August 15, 2014 at 2:16 am #

    Oooh. I like this morning meditation! That’s beautiful. I’m going to give a shot at making this a daily practice of mine, too; thanks for the inspiration! I can’t promise the same for the juice, though (I’ve been vegan for almost eleven years, but I still can’t stomach the idea of having cold juiced vegetables. Aye-aye-aye!). Hehehe. Also, thanks for the laughs due to likening the ujjayi breath to Darth Vader 😀

Leave a Reply

